The Hidden Life of Tirol

by Administration

url

There’s so much.  Between the experiences in and around Brunnenburg to the academics to the experiences farther away – I can not express to you the amount of joy this place fills me with.  The soil has an aesthetic built into it that allows people, plants, and things to grow with an appreciation – but not a conscious one.  It’s an attention to details that you don’t get in everyday life.

When you’re going to do something – why not do it right?

This is an important concept, a basic one, but important.  I also believe it is one that does NOT hold much sway over the daily activities of humanity.  To recognize the importance of the aforementioned statement, you have to look back to older times.  I’ve been reading Martha Ward’s The Hidden Life of Tirol.  This book has brought to life a culture around me that I couldn’t recognize in my first week here – and chance has placed me in opportunities to experience first hand some of the Tirolean traditions (and cultural controversies.)

Last night, while sitting at one of the local pub/cafe’s.  A gentleman walked in who was wearing very formal, almost police like attire.  I thought for sure it was some form of law enforcement just stopping in to say hello and have some coffee.  In the ensuing twenty minutes, 50 people showed up in traditional Tirolean garb.  The dancing and singing were out of this world – truth brought from the pages of my history book.

Before I close, I’d like to share another quote from The Hidden Life of Tirol – The higher one goes in the mountains, the more silent the inhabitants become.

Arrivederci!

